Property Management Laws in Louisiana
Must Louisiana property management companies have a real estate broker's license?
YES. Key components of property management (managing, renting and leasing) are considered real estate activities under existing Louisiana real estate licensing laws. If someone is paid to lease, rent, list, procure prospects or negotiate, assist, or offer to perform any of those acts, he or she will need a broker's license.
Are there any exceptions to the requirement that a Louisiana property manager have a broker's license?
Yes. For example, assisting in the performance of property management functions by carrying out administrative, clerical or maintenance tasks does not require a real estate license.
For more information about these and other Louisiana property management requirements and exceptions, please the .
Before hiring a property manager to manage your Louisiana rental property, you should always check that he or she is licensed appropriately. You can check the license status of Louisiana property managers and the .
Must Louisiana community association managers have a real estate broker's license?
NO. A broker's license is not required to manage community associations or condo associations in Louisiana.
Louisiana Real Estate Broker Licensing Requirements
Louisiana real estate broker licensing requirements include:
- Experience: must have been actively licensed as a real estate salesperson for at least four years in any state/jurisdiction
- High School: high school diploma or equivalent
- Education: proof of successful completion of 150 classroom hours or equivalent in courses specified and approved by the LREC. In addition, new broker licensees are required to complete 45 hours of post-license education within 180 days of receiving the initial license.
- Exam: pass the broker licensing examination
- Insurance: provide proof of mandatory errors and omissions insurance prior to issuance of license
- Fee: application fee is $120
Louisiana Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Requirements
Louisiana real estate salesperson requirements include:
- Age: Must be at least 18 years old
- High School: Must have attained high school diploma or equivalent
- Education: Must have successfully completed 90 hours in real estate courses approved by the LREC
- Application: Must comply with all LREC application procedures, including submission of criminal background check
- Exam: must pass the real estate salesperson licensing exam
- Sponsor: must be sponsored by a licensed real estate broker
- Insurance: must provide proof of errors and omissions insurance
For more information about these and other licensing requirements please the . You can also obtain useful information on their .
- HOME / CONDO
- Single Home or Condo (Valued up to $300K)
- Single Home or Condo ($300K to $500K)
- Single Home or Condo ($500K to $1 Million)
- Single Home or Condo (Over $1 Million)
- Multi-Family (2-4 units)
- Multi-Family (5-19 units)
- Multi-Family (20-99 units)
- Multi-Family (100+ units)
- Homeowners Association (2-49 units)
- Homeowners Association (50-99 units)
- Homeowners Association (100+ units)
- Condominium Association (2-49 units)
- Condominium Association (50-99 units)
- Condominium Association (100+ units)
- Retail (Up to 9,999 sqft)
- Retail (10,000 - 100,000 sqft)
- Retail (100,000+ sqft)
- Office (Up to 9,999 sqft)
- Office (10,000 - 100,000 sqft)
- Office (100,000+ sqft)
- Warehouse/Distribution (Up to 100,000 sqft)
- Warehouse/Distribution (100,000+ sqft)
- Light Manufacturing (Up to 100,000 sqft)
- Light Manufacturing (100,000+ sqft)
- Parking Garage
- Vacation (1-2 units)
- Vacation (3+ units)
- Other Associations (Hotel, Resort etc.)
- Mobile Home Community