Property Management Laws by State

Property Management Laws in New Hampshire

Must New Hampshire property management companies have a real estate broker's license?

YES. Key components of property management (renting, leasing and collecting rents) are considered real estate activities under existing New Hampshire real estate licensing laws. If a property manager is going to lease, rent, list, collect rents, procure prospects or negotiate, assist, or offer to perform any of those acts, he or she will need a broker's license. A salesperson working under a broker may engage in such activities.

Are there any exceptions to the requirement that a New Hampshire property manager have a real estate broker's license?

YES. For example, an owner, builder or tenant of real estate (and their employees with respect to the subject property) who do not hold themselves out as real estate brokers.

For more information about these and other New Hampshire property management requirements and exceptions, please the

Before hiring a property manager to manage your New Hampshire rental property, you should always check that he or she is licensed appropriately. You can check the license status of New Hampshire property managers at the .

New Hampshire Community Association Management Licensing

A broker's license is not required to manage community associations or condo associations in New Hampshire.

New Hampshire Real Estate Broker Licensing Requirements

New Hampshire real estate broker licensing requirements include:

  • Age: must be at least 18 years of age
  • Exam: must pass the real estate broker examination; must apply for license within 6 months
  • Experience: must have worked the equivalent of either one year full-time or 2000 hours part-time as a salesperson, or prove equivalent experience
  • Trustworthiness: must provide evidence of trustworthiness
  • Education: show proof of 60 hours of Commission approved study
  • Insurance: All principal and manager broker applicants are required to submit a surety bond in a sum of not less than $25,000.

New Hampshire Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Requirements

New Hampshire real estate salesperson licensing requirements include:

  • Age: must be at least 18 years of age
  • Exam: must pass the real estate salesperson examination; ; must apply for license within 6 months
  • Education: show proof of 40 hours of Commission approved study
  • Trustworthiness: must provide evidence of trustworthiness

For more information about these and other licensing requirements, please the .

Find Property Managers Near You
We work tirelessly to find the best property managers so you don’t have to. Please see our recommended property management companies below for your area or filter by property and zip for a perfect match.
Select Property Type
  • HOME / CONDO
    • Single Home or Condo (Valued up to $300K)
    • Single Home or Condo ($300K to $500K)
    • Single Home or Condo ($500K to $1 Million)
    • Single Home or Condo (Over $1 Million)
  • APARTMENT
    • Multi-Family (2-4 units)
    • Multi-Family (5-19 units)
    • Multi-Family (20-99 units)
    • Multi-Family (100+ units)
  • HOA
    • Homeowners Association (2-49 units)
    • Homeowners Association (50-99 units)
    • Homeowners Association (100+ units)
  • COA
    • Condominium Association (2-49 units)
    • Condominium Association (50-99 units)
    • Condominium Association (100+ units)
  • COMMERCIAL
    • Retail (Up to 9,999 sqft)
    • Retail (10,000 - 100,000 sqft)
    • Retail (100,000+ sqft)
    • Office (Up to 9,999 sqft)
    • Office (10,000 - 100,000 sqft)
    • Office (100,000+ sqft)
    • Warehouse/Distribution (Up to 100,000 sqft)
    • Warehouse/Distribution (100,000+ sqft)
    • Light Manufacturing (Up to 100,000 sqft)
    • Light Manufacturing (100,000+ sqft)
    • Parking Garage
    • Biotech/Mission-Critical
  • SHORT-TERM
    • Vacation (1-2 units)
    • Vacation (3+ units)
  • OTHER
    • Other Associations (Hotel, Resort etc.)
    • Mobile Home Community
Find Property Managers Near You
Select Property Type
  • HOME / CONDO
    • Single Home or Condo (Valued up to $300K)
    • Single Home or Condo ($300K to $500K)
    • Single Home or Condo ($500K to $1 Million)
    • Single Home or Condo (Over $1 Million)
  • APARTMENT
    • Multi-Family (2-4 units)
    • Multi-Family (5-19 units)
    • Multi-Family (20-99 units)
    • Multi-Family (100+ units)
  • HOA
    • Homeowners Association (2-49 units)
    • Homeowners Association (50-99 units)
    • Homeowners Association (100+ units)
  • COA
    • Condominium Association (2-49 units)
    • Condominium Association (50-99 units)
    • Condominium Association (100+ units)
  • COMMERCIAL
    • Retail (Up to 9,999 sqft)
    • Retail (10,000 - 100,000 sqft)
    • Retail (100,000+ sqft)
    • Office (Up to 9,999 sqft)
    • Office (10,000 - 100,000 sqft)
    • Office (100,000+ sqft)
    • Warehouse/Distribution (Up to 100,000 sqft)
    • Warehouse/Distribution (100,000+ sqft)
    • Light Manufacturing (Up to 100,000 sqft)
    • Light Manufacturing (100,000+ sqft)
    • Parking Garage
    • Biotech/Mission-Critical
  • SHORT-TERM
    • Vacation (1-2 units)
    • Vacation (3+ units)
  • OTHER
    • Other Associations (Hotel, Resort etc.)
    • Mobile Home Community